I am always surprised to see ideas passed from one to another, developed, transformed in talks, during meetings here. I cannot tell why is that. You might think that, well, is just the normal way good conversations go: one says something, another says something related to that and so on, they go back and forward. While this is true in general I cannot say I was used seeing it back home. I grew up listening to more experienced people talking (parents, teachers, professors, intellectuals on TV shows) and from time to time I had to answer questions about what I have heard&learned from that. Rarely I was asked to present my opinion and even more rarely to follow up somebody’s idea with something original.

I am fascinated how people around here know how to create connections between somebody else’s idea and theirs. “To follow up on your idea” or “Is very interesting that you say that because I also…” are not just connecting the words but also ideas.

My amazed now is similar with the one I had whet I learned that writing essays is done different here. That you have to give examples (even if they seem trivial to you) in order for people to appreciate your text. It was not easy to learn how to do it this way, and I still have a hard time finding the right example to illustrate an idea but I am getting better.

Now, I do not know about learning to play with ideas. While I love this flying ideas way of having a conversation I am afraid I am not good at it. I feel like joining a blowing bubble party with a tennis racquet sometimes. But is good that at least I can see the show and who knows, maybe one day, I will be able to blow some bubbles myself.

šŸ™‚

